Credits & Acknowledgements

The publisher, author, and illustrator would like to thank the following schools, organizations, and individuals for their participation in the development of this book.

Participating Schools:

Washington Elementary, Billings MT ; Teacher: Adriene Loveridge

Superior Elementary, Superior CO; Teacher: Mike Wojczuk 

Rose Park Elementary, Billings MT ; Teacher: Rachel Long

Poly Drive Elementary, Billings MT ; Teacher: Rachel Long

Ponderosa Elementary, Billings MT ; Teacher: Rachel Long

Northside Elementary, Montrose CO ; Teacher: Cheryl Isgreen

Indian Paintbrush Elementary, Laramie WY ; Teacher: Marianne Cook 

Meadowloark Elementary, Sheridan WY ; Teacher: Christy Spielman

Art Cottage, Boise ID ; Teacher: Cathy Mansell

Douglass Elementary, Boulder CO ; Teacher: Kenneth Nova

Highland Park Elementary, Sheridan WY ; Teacher: Jackie McMahan

Rio Grande Elementary, Belen NM; Teacher: Molly Madden

Bixby School, Boulder CO; Teacher: Robert MacKenzie

Rio Grande Elementary, Belen , NM ; Teacher: Chris Montgomery

Rio Grande Elementary, Belen , NM ; Teacher: Delphine Baca

Dolores Gonzales Elementary, Albuqueruque , NM ; Teacher: Leslie Lazar

Bosque School , Albuquerque NM : Teachers Dr. Kim Lester and Jonathon Konrad 


Niwot Ridge Long Term Ecological Research Schoolyard program

National Science Foundation

University of Colorado at Boulder Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research

University of Colorado at Boulder Department of Environmental Studies

Bosque Ecosystem Monitoring Program (BEMP), Sevilleta LTER (especially Kimi Scheerer and Clifford Crawford)


Casey Davenhill

Jennelle Freeston

Diane McKnight

Kenneth Nova

Curry Rosato

Lindsay Weber


Todd Ackerman

Please contact with questions, comments or for technical assistance regarding this web site. This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Cooperative Agreement
Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the material are those of the author(s) and do not necesarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.